6 Comments

Aliens or not? Agent Mulder and Agent Owen

Love this post from The Oak Log originally posted by Jude St. John about a year and a half ago! Great quote by Owen!

Agent Mulder: “I’m the key figure in an ongoing government charade, the plot to conceal the truth about the existence of extraterrestrials. It’s a global conspiracy, actually, with key players in the highest levels of power, that reaches down into the lives of every man, woman, and child on this planet, so, of course, no one believes me. I’m an annoyance to my superiors, a joke to my peers. They call me Spooky. Spooky Mulder, whose sister was abducted by aliens when he was just a kid and who now chases after little green men with a badge and a gun, shouting to the heavens or to anyone who will listen that the fix is in …”

John Owen: “Scripture does not support the idea that there are other intelligent creatures besides angels and men. That idea disturbs the whole representation of the glory of God and the whole purpose of his wisdom and grace declared is Scripture. The existence of other intellectual creatures besides angels and men is the creation of the fanciful imaginations of sinful men who have lost all semblance of wisdom.”

[HT: Jude St. John]

6 comments on “Aliens or not? Agent Mulder and Agent Owen

  1. Believe it or not, this post is second all-time most popular post on the blog. I guess there’s a lot of X-Files junkies out there.

    Merry Christmas and Happy New Year brother!

  2. Why? If the sea, sky and land are filled with living things, why not the heavens? How can these things be ruled out? How would that idea disturb the whole representation of the glory of God and the whole purpose of his wisdom and grace declared is Scripture? Intrigued by this post – clarification would be appreciated tough.

  3. Last word in the previous post should have been “though” – not “tough”.

  4. Richard and Brandon, I have searched for the source of that quote but have been unsuccessful. I’ll keep looking as reading it in context may give us a better idea of exactly what Owen was driving at and why he felt this way. Sorry I can’t be any more helpful on this one.
    Jude

  5. Found it! The quote is from The Glory of Christ and is in the chapter entitled The Glory of Christ in Restoring All Things. I have the Puritan Paperbacks edition and the quote is about the 10th paragraph of the above chapter.

    Jude

  6. Thank you Jude – I’m sure the context will help me understand his point better. Also, to be fair – my original comment overlooked the word “intellectual” in the quote (and so my comment about the sea/sky/land being filled is really neither here nor there).

    Thanks again!

    Richard

Leave a comment